Skip to main content

Past Presidents

Image of Homer  Durham

Homer Durham

Eleventh President
1960 - 1969

During the 1960s with the presidency of G. Homer Durham, Arizona State University began its academic maturing with the establishment of several new colleges, including the College of Fine Arts, the College of Law, the College of Nursing, the School of Social Work, and the reorganization of what became the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Perhaps most importantly, the university gained the authority to award the Doctor of Philosophy and other doctoral degrees.

President Durham came to the fledgling university with its 10,000 students in 1960, and before the end of his tenure in 1969, Durham developed it into a university with national status and 23,000 students. President Durham also brought many cultural activities to Arizona State University, including performances and exhibitions of music and the arts.