Skip to main content
ASU Charter Signage

News and updates

Council members

Faculty Chair

Dr. Jeffrey Wilson
Professor of Economics, W.P. Carey School of Business


Faculty Executive Committee

Dr. Christine Bunzide
School Director and Associate Professor, School of Community Resources and Development
Dr. Maria Rosario Jackson
Institute Professor, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts and Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions
Ken Shropshire
Adidas Distinguished Professor of Global Sport and CEO of Global Sport Institute

Faculty Committee

Dr. Patience Akpan-Obong 
Associate Professor, College of Integrative Sciences and the Arts
Angela Banks J.D.
Charles J. Merriam Distinguished Professor of Law, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Dr. Olga Davis
Associate Dean, Barrett, The Honors College and Professor, Hugh Downs School of Human Communication
Dr. Vernon Morris
School Director and Professor, School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences
Dr. Ayanna Thompson
Center Director and Professor, Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Dr. Bernard Young
Professor, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts

Staff Chair

Colleen Jennings-Roggensack
Vice President, ASU Cultural Affairs


Staff Executive Committee

Ray Anderson
Vice President, Sun Devil Athletics
Dr. Cassandra Aska
Deputy Vice President and Dean of Students, Tempe, Office of Educational Outreach and Student Services
Kenja Hassan
Assistant Vice President, Office of Government and Community Engagement

Staff Committee

Cheryl Hyman
Vice Provost for Academic Alliances, Office of the University Provost
Dr. Antoinette Farmer-Thompson
Deputy Vice President, Office of Educational Outreach and Student Services

Student Committee

Miriam Araya
President, Black Graduate Student Association and Member, Multicultural Solidarity Coalition
Aniyah Braveboy
President, Black African Coalition
Cornelius Foxworth
Vice President, Black African Coalition
Kiara Kennedy
Sun Devils United
Donta McGilvery
Dean’s Fellow & Coordinator for Culture and Access, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Sarra Tekola
Co-President, Black Graduate Student Association and Member, Multicultural Solidarity Coalition



Communications support for the co-chairs

Suzanne Wilson, Sr. Media Relations Officer, ASU Media Relations and Strategic Communications

As the Council embarks on this very important work, we want you to know we cherish your valuable input. We will keep you up to date as things progress and look forward to your continued feedback. If you are not able to make the town hall, please send your suggestions to



To the ASU community:

In an email to ASU’s campus community on September 2, 2020, I announced 25 starting actions that we have committed to in the efforts to advance meaningful change in the fight for equality and social justice at ASU and beyond. I emphasize “starting” because we know that this work is not finite. It is evolving and will continue to do so. Central to its implementation is the establishment of a new Advisory Council on African American Affairs, which has already started the important work of convening constructive dialogue around the initiatives.

I am pleased to announce Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, vice president of ASU Cultural Affairs, and Jeffrey Wilson, professor in ASU’s Department of Economics, as the co-chairs of this new council. I will be working alongside Colleen, Jeffrey and other members of the Council to develop, implement and evaluate the work that we have started in response to recent events that remind us that discrimination still exists and must be dismantled. Together we will draw from our shared knowledge and lived experiences to evaluate and develop all of the possible ways that we can overcome the systemic issues of racism and injustice.

The Council invites the interest and support of all members the ASU community who are committed to ensuring the success and growth of Black faculty, staff and students. It is important to underscore that we are committed to the success and growth of all of our faculty, staff and students, but this particular moment in time calls for heightened focus on the Black community. In the months between now and July 2021, the Council will hold town hall meetings to address key areas of interest related to the initiatives. One of those meetings will include a deeper discussion about why we are embarking on this work now. A data committee will keep track of the progress we are making together, and a new website dedicated to our efforts will provide updates and serve as a connection hub for ideas and inquiries.

In focusing on the immediate issues and opportunities for Black faculty, staff and students, ASU earnestly accepts the inclusive institutional responsibilities laid bare in the ASU charter. We can do more and we will do more to acknowledge and dismantle the barriers of systemic racism in the ongoing design and evolution of the New American University.

I appreciate the voluntary collaboration and commitment of so many leaders within the ASU community as we accelerate our work in progress. I look forward to your ideas, your input and your initiatives. Let’s do this work together. 

Michael M. Crow
Arizona State University